Enemy Pathfinding and Deeper Game Mechanics

So, there have been a few things to change since the last iteration.

Enemy Pathfinding

I am using Astar pathfinding (a plugin) to move the Drifters. I’m using a Point graph where I set waypoints using an empty Game Object with cubes. I had to set the distance between getting the next waypoint at 0.1 because the Drifters were cutting corners. The Drifters will look for the waypoint tagged “End Zone”. This modular design will allow me to create any number of levels with predetermined paths.

Cash, Lives, Waves, and Tower Cost

Currently, the player starts out with $100. This value is kind of arbitrary because there is no cost structure to the towers. Right now, Missile towers are $30, Laser are $10, and Flamethrower are $20. The player collects money by destroying enemies. Each enemy is worth $2, so it is really easy to get lots of towers quickly.

The player starts out with a standard 10 lives. There are 5 waves in this current iteration. Not much to talk about with these points.

Other than that, I think that’s all I’ve done  during the week! I’m definitely getting closer to wanting art assets and possibly (gasp) an artist.

Leave a comment